Ultimate Rules Insights
- Receiving the Pull: Touching or dropping the pull results in a turnover.
- Regardless of whether you are inbounds or out.
- If you catch the pull you must play from that point.
- Thus you cannot walk to the front of the endzone.
- If the pull lands and stays in the pitch or endzone it must be played from where it stops (although anyone can stop the disc from rolling).
- Thus the ideal pull spends a long time in the air and lands in the back corner of the endzone!
- If the pull lands inbounds and then rolls out it must be brought into play on the sideline at the point where it went out.
- If the pull lands inbounds and then rolls out of the endzone in must be brought into play at the nearest point (in a straight line) on the front of the endzone.
- This means that if it went out the side of the endzone you must take it to the front corner of the endzone.
- If the pull goes “out on the full” you have three choices:
- Put the disc in play from the sideline at the point that it went out.
- Or put the disc in play from the middle of the pitch perpendicular to the point where it went out.
- Or put the disc in play at the brick point (20m from the endzone on a full size outdoor pitch).
For the second and third options above you must declare your intention by raising one arm and shouting “middle” or “brick”, BEFORE picking up the disc.